Livetext Safety Guide

Livetext users

 

Basics of the Livetext community

  • Individuals 13 years of age and older are welcome on Livetext
  • Everyone using Livetext is subject to the Livetext Terms of Service and Yahoo Community Guidelines 

You on Livetext  

Yahoo ID (Sign-in only): If you already have a Yahoo account, you can use your Yahoo ID when logging into Livetext. Once logged in, you’ll be prompted to associate your phone number and create an Livetext Nickname.

Livetext Nickname: This is a unique nickname used only for Livetext that you create when you first join. This nickname will display to your friends and can be used by others to connect with you on the app. 

What you should know 

It’s Video + Text: Livetext provides the ability to share live video and text when chatting with another person.

People can search for and contact you: Livetext is a place to connect with others. If others know your Livetext Nickname or have you in their mobile phone Contact List, they will be able to reach out to you.

Your Profile photo is visible to others: The profile photo you choose is visible to others who may search and find you on Livetext and to those with whom you are already a friend. This photo should be suitable for all audiences.

Add a friend to chat: You never have to chat with anyone if you don’t want to! When someone wants to connect with you by sending a message, you are prompted with a Friend Request where you can Add or Delete the request. You can access the option to Add or Delete a Friend from your main Friends list or from the ‘Friend Request’ option on your Main Menu:

  • To Add a Friend and chat- Select the checkmark
  • To Delete the request- Select the ‘X

You can Delete unwanted contact: Livetext wants you to have an enjoyable experience with safety in mind. If you encounter someone who bothers you or no longer want to be connected- simply delete them by doing the following: 

  1. Visit the Livetext menu by opening the app and swiping down
  2. Select My Friends and then the Nickname of the user you want to delete
  3. Select Remove [Name] to remove them from your Friends List and confirm

Once you remove a friend, they can no longer contact you. 

Livetext safety: best practices 

Share wisely: Be mindful of how you use Livetext and how much you share. While the conversation may be with one person, always keep in mind that you do not have complete control over the content you share with someone else- or when they might take a quick screenshot of what you say or do onscreen.

Livetext is not meant for:

· Threatening or hateful messages
· Sharing other people’s personal information (It’s not yours!)
· Trying to steal other people’s information (Again, it’s not yours!)
· Impersonating or bullying others
· Sharing adult or sexual content- especially involving users under the age of 18
· Sharing or displaying bodily or self-harm
· Spamming or annoying others

Someone bothering you? Use ‘Delete’: Delete functions as a means of disconnecting from someone- for whatever reason you may choose. Always remember that at any time you don’t want to be connected with someone- you can Delete them so they are no longer able to contact you directly. To Delete a Friend:

  1. Visit the Livetext menu by opening the app and swiping down
  2. Select My Friends and touch Nickname of the user you want to delete
  3. Select Remove [Name] to remove them from your Friends List and confirm

Once you remove a friend, they can no longer contact you.

 

For more information about using Yahoo products with safety in mind, keep exploring the Yahoo Safety Center.